History

Sierra's Past

The Sierra Club story begins in San Francisco in 1892 when the now legendary naturalist John Muir co-founded a hiking club for mountain lovers. The Club quickly became a leader in the movement to preserve America’s natural spaces from unsustainable logging, mining, sheep and cattle grazing. 

Muir had travelled extensively throughout the United States and Canada and brought to the Sierra Club a profound knowledge of North America’s natural spaces. In 1864, he had explored the woods and collected plants along the southern shore of Lake Huron and hiked the Niagara Escarpment and the Bruce Trail. In 1867, he undertook a 1,000-mile hike from Kentucky to Florida. Moving to the West Coast, he took up residence in what is today Yosemite National Park, where he lived in a cabin for an extended period.  

Muir believed that a spiritual link exists between people and nature. The books and newspaper articles he wrote about his experiences in the natural world are considered to have profoundly shaped how we see nature today. His writing inspired his readers, who included presidents and congressmen, to create legislation protecting vast tracks of wilderness that today form the backbone of the  National Park System in the American West. 

John Muir

The Sierra Club was to grow over the next six decades to become the largest, most effective environmental organization in North America with Chapters and local Groups in every U.S. state.

In 1969, a handful of British Columbians decided to adapt and apply what they considered a winning model to fight clear-cut logging in the Nitinat Triangle and West Coast Trail on Vancouver Island. They became the first Canadian chapter of the U.S. Sierra Club.  

The next three decades were to witness the growth of new chapters across Canada into the organization that we have now.

Sierra Today

Today, the Sierra Club Canada Foundation (SCCF) is a national registered charity that includes four chapters: Atlantic, Québec, Ontario, and Prairie, plus the Sierra Youth Coalition, a group whose mandate is to empower young people to become community leaders.

On the national level, we have earned an excellent reputation for our thoroughly researched positions and our ability to serve as a spokesperson for environmental issues Canada wide. On a regional level, the commitment of our volunteers makes us an effective advocate on the environmental issues affecting Canadians in their communities. 

Following in the footsteps of John Muir, we sponsor programs that help to bring nature into the lives of children and adults. 

Return to Top

Notre histoire

Sierra autrefois 

L’histoire de Sierra Club commence en 1892 à San Francisco lorsque John Muir –un naturaliste aujourd’hui légendaire– cofonde un club de randonnée pour les amoureux de la montagne. Ce club est rapidement devenu le leader du mouvement de préservation des espaces naturels américains, menacés par l’exploitation intensive des forêts, l’extraction minière et le pâturage du bétail.  

Muir a voyagé de nombreuses fois à travers les États-Unis et le Canada et a ramené au Sierra Club une connaissance approfondie des espaces naturels nord-américains.  En 1864, il a exploré les forêts et collecter des plantes le long de la côte Sud du Lac Huron, puis il parcourut l’escarpement du Niagara et le sentier Bruce. En 1867, il entreprit une randonnée de 1000 kilomètres du Kentucky jusqu’à la Floride. Dans les années qui suivirent, Muir déménagea vers la côte Ouest et s’installa dans l’actuel Parc National de Yosemite, où il vécut dans un modeste chalet pendant quelques temps.

Muir pensait qu’un lien spirituel existait entre les gens et la nature. On considère que ses ouvrages et ses articles ont profondément contribué à forger notre vision moderne du monde naturel. Ses écrits ont encouragé des Présidents, des membres du Congrès et bien d’autres lecteurs à créer une législation pour la protection de vastes sentiers sauvages, qui forment aujourd’hui la base du réseau des parcs nationaux de l’Ouest américain.

John Muir

Au cours des six décennies suivantes, le Sierra Club gagna en popularité et devint la plus grande et la plus efficace organisation environnementale en Amérique du Nord, avec des groupes locaux présents dans chaque État américain.

En 1969, des habitants de la Colombie Britannique décidèrent d’appliquer le même modèle pour lutter contre la coupe rase des forêts dans le triangle Nitinat et le long du Sentier de la Côte-Ouest sur l’île de Vancouver. La première section canadienne du Sierra Club était née.

Pendant quarante ans, le Sierra Club du Canada a gagné en importance et de nouveaux groupes ont était créer, façonnant l’organisation que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. 

Sierra aujourd’hui  

La Fondation Sierra Club Canada (SCCF) est maintenant un organisme de bienfaisance national composé de quatre groupes : le groupe Atlantique, le groupe Québec, le groupe Ontario et le groupe Prairie; sans compter la Coalition Jeunesse Sierra, qui se donne pour mission d’encourager les jeunes à devenir des leaders de leurs communautés. 

Au niveau national, nous avons gagné une excellente réputation pour nos prises de positions réfléchies et consciencieuses et pour notre rôle de porte-parole de la cause environnementale au Canada. Au niveau régional, des volontaires engagés et efficaces s’impliquent pour aider les Canadiens à faire face aux problèmes environnementaux qui touchent leurs communautés.

Dans les pas de John Muir, nous commanditons des programmes qui remettent la nature au cœur de la vie des enfants et des adultes.